The Life and Times of Baby Lightner

-the sexiest fetus the world has every seen!

7 Weeks :-) April 22, 2010

Hey Everyone!

Man, I have been SO busy for the past 6 weeks… I wish I could relax a little here in the 7th. Unfortunately, I doubt that’s going to happen! First, the good stuff; here’s what I look like this week!

I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but TOOT! TOOT! I am just too cute! Now for the fruit comparison…

A blueberry! I have DOUBLED my size since last week! Here is a run-down of what’s going on with me this week;

* Hands and feet are emerging from developing arms and legs. Digits aren’t separated yet, so they look more like little paddles.

* The small tail the embryo has is shrinking, and will be gone within the next few weeks.

* There are eyelid folds partially covering those little peepers (which already have a little bit of color!)

* Baby has the tip of it’s tiny nose… and there are tiny veins beneath parchment-thin skin.

* Both hemisphere’s of the brain are growing.

* The liver is churning out red blood cells until bone marrow forms and takes over that role.

* The appendix and pancreas are in place (and in working order, but not being used quite yet).

* The yolk sac has been absorbed, and the placenta has taken over nourishing the baby!

As for my Mommy;

* The uterus has doubled in size.

* She’ll probably be peeing more than usual (thanks to increased blood volume and extra fluid being processed by her kidneys).

* By this time, she already has 10% more blood than she did before she got pregnant! (By the end of pregnancy, she will have 40-45% more!- that’s what’s needed to support a full term baby!).

* Morning sickness (or ALL DAY sickness <3) is at it’s peak, but should subside by 14-15 weeks.

Whew! That’s a lot happening! Thankfully, my Mom has been resting much better since the Dr gave her the medicine to help with her nausea- and she is eating a lot better, too 🙂 She cleaned more stuff out of my room with the help of Grandma Parrish this evening, and she really hopes that they (well, my Daddy) can start fixing the holes in the walls this Sunday. She also got a cool surprise from my Grandma and Pappy Parrish; they brought over a couple of her favorite books when she was a little girl! Over the next few weeks, she will post about them to see if they jog anyone else’s memory 🙂

Well, it’s her bedtime… hopefully Daddy will be in from the garage soon. Love you all, see you in about 231 days! Xoxoxo

 

Leave a comment